In the second half of the nineties Iron Monkey brought an unseen eclectic mix of sludge and stoner to the UK.

They produced 2 albums in that period that should take a proud place in any sludge collection until they split around 1999.  When vocalist Jhonny morrow died tragically 3 years late, any hopes of a reunon were abandoned. That is until now,  when 15 years later the band reformed. Original guitarist Jim Rushby has also taken over vocal duties while Doug Watson traded his six string for a bass. Sadly Cripplrd Blax Phoenix’s  Justin Greaves is no longer on the drumstool. He has been replaced by newcomer Brigga. Despite the revamped lineup, the mark II incarnation is every bit a crazed ape as before. It might have lost some of its originality considering the simian following the band hasleft in its wake, but it’s a more than welcome reurn. Roadburn anyone?


1. Crown of Electrodescs

2. OmegaMangler

3. 9-13

4. Toadcrucifier - R.I.P.PER

5. Destroyer

6. Mortarhex

7. The Rope

8. Doomsday Impulse Multiplier

9. Moreland St. Hammervortex

Label: Relapse



Back to Top