Like Rotting Christ and Necromantia, Greece’s Septic Flesh stood at the cradle of the nascent Hellenic metal scene in the early nineties.

They had a more symphonic, gothic feel about them that resulted in raw diamonds like ‘Mystic Places of Dawn and ‘Έσοπτρον’ that largely remained well hidden gems to the greater metal masses. That changed significantly when they seriously upped the ante on the orchestral arrangements on ‘Communion’ in 2008, mainly due to Christos Antoniou’s completed studies in classical composition. From there onwards they were heralded as a new Dimmu Borgir of sorts, as one of the most inspired purveyors the genre. ‘The Great Mass’ and ‘Titan’ followed to great success, leading up to its current omega. Their eleventh studio album ‘Codex Omega’, builds on the strengths on their previous three works, with the Filmharmonic Orchestra of Prague and a full choir to back up their grandiose compositions. The cover art is as usual another jewel, by the hand of their very own Seth. Overall there aren’t that many changes stylistically from ‘Titan’, but one of the things they have clearly focused on is space. Previous compositions had a tendency to brick up every single note with majestic, Wagnerian spectacles. Now while the sound is still grand obviously, they have learned that sometimes less really is more and that the songs will in fact become even more epic if you don’t go full on and loud all the time.


1. Dante’s Inferno

2. 3rd Testament (Codex Omega) 

3. Portrait of a Headless Man

4. Martyr

5. Enemy of Truth

6. Dark Art

7. Our Church, Below the Sea

8. Faceless Queen

9. The Gospels of Fear

10. Trinity

Label: Season of Mist



Back to Top