After 25 years of making feel good power metal, it’s time to celebrate it. Monuments is a summary of all the hard work Edguy has done over the years. The album contains songs from almost all previous released albums, 5 new songs and a previous unreleased song from their first album ‘Savage Poetry’. This makes Monuments a symbol of dreams coming true. The members of Edguy grew up in a small German village called Fulda.

Then only dreaming of what that just happened right now. Lead singer Tobias Sammet said he wrote the new song ‘Open Sesame’ after looking back at the journey throughout their career. It’s a very autobiographic song that proves that with strong willpower, you can achieve anything in your wildest dreams.

While listening to the album, a lot of different feelings are passing by. You'll hear the more emotional songs like Save Me, You’ll hear the more humorous songs like ‘Lavatory Love Machine’ and on top of it all, you’ll hear Edguy at it’s best with songs like ‘Space Police’. This is why it’s such a good summary of the journey that Edguy has been on the past 25 years. In the promotion video of the album, which can be found below, it says that Monuments is the celebration of the first part of the journey. This most likely means that there is going to be a second part of the journey were we will see and hear more of Edguys dreams, which seem far from over.



New Songs:
01. Ravenblack
02. Wrestle The Devil
03. Open Sesame
04. Landmarks
05. The Mountaineer

06. 929
07. Defenders Of The Crown
08. Save Me
09. The Piper Never Dies
10. Lavatory Love Machine 
11. King Of Fools
12. Superheroes
13. Love Tyger
14. Ministry Of Saints
15. Tears Of A Mandrake
16. Mysteria
17. Vain Glory Opera
18. Rock Of Cashel
19. Judas At The Opera
20. Holy Water
21. Spooks In The Attic
22. Babylon
23. The Eternal Wayfarer
24. Out Of Control
25. Land Of The Miracle
26. Key To My Fate
27. Space Police 

Previously unreleased recording from the 1995 album ‘Savage Poetry’:
28. Reborn In The Waste 

Label: Nuclear Blast Records


Score: 9.5/10

Back to Top