opeth.jpgSorceress is the latest effort of Swedish band Opeth. If you've never heard about Opeth, then you need to know that they are an extremely versatile band. They started off setting the gold standard for death metal in the 1990s, and then plunged into progressive rock these past years.

As usual, Sorceress is not an album that can be easily defined. Åkerfeldt himself mentioned that he wanted to write songs that are each different for this album, to create diversity. If there is one constant in the music of Opeth is that, whatever they do, the emotional depth of their work is always beyond comparison. Whether they chose grunts and death metal, or soft progressive, 70s-inspired rock, their music has a way of cutting straight to the heart.

The main theme of Sorceress is the dark side of love: the paranoia, the jealousy, the heart-wrenching pain. The music might sound lighter than what we are used of hearing from Opeth, but the lyrics are darker than ever.

To conclude: Sorceress is another brilliant piece of work by Opeth. The fact that I already own the album before I finish typing this review, should tell you everything you need to know about how good this album is.


  1. Persephone
  2. Sorceress
  3. The Wilde Flowers
  4. Will O The Wisp
  5. Chrysalis
  6. Sorceress 2
  7. The Seventh Sojourn
  8. Strange Brew
  9. A Fleeting Glance
  10. Era
  11. Persephone (Slight Return)

Label: Nuclear Blast


Score: 9,5/10



Back to Top