panychida.jpgHailing from Pilsen in the Czech Republic, Panychida have released their fourth full-length album Haereticalia – The Night Battles. The theme of Haereticalia – The Night Battles is the legend of the Benandanti of North Italy. Some tracks deal with themes from the same realm: the myth of “Perchtenlaufen” en the werewolves of Estonia.


Originally a pagan metal band, Panychida have added more symphonic and orchestral elements on Haereticalia – The Night Battles. The result is what they call “blackened heavy metal”. Blackened because of the extreme vocals, and heavy in the modern sense of the word, where bands with epic themes like Sabaton are also considered heavy metal.

Haereticalia – The Night Battles is a solid album. The contents are varied, and there is some serious storytelling going on. Here and there, the balance between the black metal parts and the orchestral parts is off, and some of the symphonic parts seem more old school black metal synthesizer work than full-bodied instrumental work. But Panychida have found their path in the ocean of pagan metal bands. A bit more polishing, and their sound could be really refreshing and new.

To conclude: Haereticalia – The Night Battles is strong in telling stories with soundscapes. Here and there rough at the edges, the new sound of Panychida holds a promise for their future work.


1. The Wild Hunt Assembly
2. Procession Of The Dead
3. The Night Consumes The Light
4. Josafat (The Gathering)
5. In Striacium (Instrumental)
6. Hunting The Witches
7. …For I Don’t Cause The Evil
8. The Livonian Werewolf
9. Perchtenlaufen (Instrumental)
10. Alatyrĭ (live)
11. Three Pillars (live)

Label: Cursed Records

Score: 7/10


Back to Top