588_Kamelot_CMYK1.jpgKamelot have released their 11th album, Haven, and it's yet another masterpiece. Darker than some of their previous work, with a little more power and a little less symphonic metal to it, it reminds me of Epica and The Black Halo.

Don't get me wrong – the pumping double bass from Karma is not back, but the drive and hit-value of their tracks is clear. Haven is also the second album with their “new” vocalist Tommy Karevik, and while he still tries to sound a lot like his predecessor Roy Khan, he seems to be able to explore his own voice a bit more on Haven.

On Haven, we are also treated to some great guest appearances: Alissa White-Gluz from Arch Enemy, Troy Donockley from Nightwish and Charlotte Wessels from Delain. Each ot these musicians add a bit of extra flavor to the album.

My favorite tracks on the album are “Fallen Star”, with its delicate emotional quality, “Veil of Elysium”, which reminds me of the good old Karma days (Kamelot's very best album in my opinion), the ballad “Under Grey Skies”, which reminds me of Epica's “Trois Vierges”, and the dark and heavy “Liar Liar (Wasteland Monarchy)” with Alissa White-Gluz's guest vocals.

Haven is a fast-paced, melodic, dark, powerful album of one of the most successful metal bands of the past decade – Kamelot are ready to embark on yet another epic world tour and wow fans old and new worldwide with their high-quality music (and great live shows).


1. Fallen Star

2. Insomnia

3. Citizen Zero

4. Veil Of Elysium

5. Under Grey Skies

6. My Therapy

7. Ecclesia

8. End Of Innocence

9. Beautiful Apocalypse

10. Liar Liar (Wasteland Monarchy)

11. Here's To The Fall

12. Revolution

13. Haven


Label: Napalm Records

Website: https://www.facebook.com/kamelotofficial

Score: 8/10


Back to Top